ReMaT

Successfully completed project ReMaT

Research Management Training for Early-Stage-Researchers

Customer: European Commission – funded by the European Framework 6 Programme

ReMaT is the product of the observation that early stage researchers need to develop complementary skills aside from their specialist knowledge.

The overarching goal of the project was to encourage demand for integrating research management training measures as an essential part of doctoral education by showing how this can be done in an effective pragmatic manner, without taking too much time away from research itself. This need has been identified by the European University Association in their study on European Doctoral Education DOC-CAREERS.

With funding support from the European Commission’s Framework 6 Programme, a carefully crafted workshop was developed in consultation with focus groups comprising experienced as well as early-stage researchers, senior industrial research managers, entrepreneurs and PhD programme directors. The project to develop the ReMaT workshop provided an opportunity to pilot the concept at various locations in Europe with both participants and external observers providing feedback. The success of ReMaT can be attributed to intensive stakeholder consultation across Europe and the willingness of faculty and students to participate in this process in the formation of the package.

Legacy

Now a decade post completion of the project, ReMaT has established itself as a much sought-after training opportunity booked by individuals and graduate schools, showing that its goal was met. Many hundreds of participants to date from well over 40 institutions, and from a multitude of disciplines and nationalities have attended the workshop. ReMaT is offered on a cost-covering basis as an open course, or hosted by universities or research institutes to provide wider access to high quality complementary skills training for all early stage researchers. It is marketed through Tutech Academy.
Given that the topic is now integrated into the TUTECH ACADEMY programme, the website was taken offline in 2019.

An overview of ReMaT’s genesis can be found in our brochure ‘What is ReMaT?’ (PDF).

The final report is also available as a PDF.

“It was only during the workshop that I have realised how much research management is important. I have never had this kind of training.”

Nives Skunca, PhD candidate in Zagreb, Croatia

If you are interested in hosting one of our seminars, please ask for a detailed offer. We are also happy to provide tailor-made workshops subject to time available. Please get in touch with us. Contact and further information Dr Margarete Remmert-Rieper Tel: +49 40 76629 6353 Fax: +49 40 76629 6359 Email: academy@tutech.de

Dr Margarete Remmert-Rieper

ReMaT

Erfolgreich abgeschlossenes Projekt ReMaT

Research Management Training for Early-Stage-Researchers

Auftraggeber: Europäische Kommission – gefördert im 6. Forschungsrahmenprogramm

 

ReMaT ist die Konsequenz aus der Erkenntnis, dass Forscher im Frühstadium neben ihrem Fachwissen auch ergänzende Fähigkeiten entwickeln müssen.

Das übergreifende Ziel des Projekts war es, die Nachfrage nach der Integration von Trainingsmaßnahmen im Bereich des Forschungsmanagements als wesentlichen Bestandteil der Doktorandenausbildung zu fördern, in dem gezeigt wurde, dass dies effektiv und pragmatisch erfolgen kann, ohne die eigentliche Forschung zu sehr zu vernachlässigen. Der Bedarf wurde bereits durch die European University Association in ihrer Studie zur europäischen Doktorandenausbildung DOC-CAREERS erkannt.

 

Mit finanzieller Unterstützung durch das 6. Rahmenprogramm der Europäischen Kommission wurde in Absprache mit Fokusgruppen, die sowohl erfahrene als auch Nachwuchsforscher, leitende Forschungsmanager der Industrie, Unternehmer und Leiter von Promotionsprogrammen umfasste, ein sorgfältig ausgearbeiteter Workshop entwickelt.  Die Entwicklung des ReMaT-Workshops bot die Chance, das Konzept in verschiedenen europäischen Standorten auszuprobieren und Feedback sowohl von Teilnehmern als auch von externen Beobachtern zu bekommen. Der Erfolg von ReMaT lässt sich auf zwei Faktoren zurückführen: eine intensive Konsultation mit Stakeholdern aus ganz Europa und die Bereitschaft von Dozenten  und Studierenden, sich an der Entwicklung dieses Angebots zu beteiligen.

 

Projektergebnis

Heute, ein Jahrzehnt nach Abschluss des Projekts, hat sich ReMaT als stark nachgefragtes Bildungsangebot etabliert, das von Einzelpersonen als auch von Graduiertenkollegen gebucht wird, was zeigt, dass das Ziel erreicht wurde. Bis heute haben mehrere hundert Teilnehmer aus weit über 40 Instituten und aus einer Vielzahl von Fachgebieten und Nationalitäten den Workshop besucht. ReMaT wird als kostendeckender offener Workshop angeboten oder von Universitäten oder Forschungsinstituten gebucht, die allen Nachwuchsforschern eine hochwertige Schulung im Bereich ergänzender Kompetenzen vor Ort anbieten wollen. Die Trainingsmaßnahme wird durch Tutech Academy vermarktet. Da das Thema nun in das Programm der TUTECH ACADEMY integriert ist, wurde die Website 2019 abgeschaltet.

Einen Überblick über die Entstehungsgeschichte gibt unsere Broschüre ‘What is ReMaT?’ (PDF).

Der Abschlußbericht ist ebenfalls als PDF verfügbar.

“Erst während des Workshops habe ich erkannt, wie wichtig das Forschungsmanagement ist. Ich habe noch nie eine solche Ausbildung erhalten.”

Nives Skunca, PhD candidate in Zagreb, Croatia

Die TUTECH ACADEMY kommt auch zu Ihnen. Sie können unsere Workshops in Ihren Räumlichkeiten stattfinden lassen. Wir freuen uns auch über Anfragen nach individuell angepassten Workshops. Bitte nehmen Sie Kontakt auf.

Kontakt und Auskunft

Dr. Margarete Remmert-Rieper
Tel.: +49 40 76629 6353
Fax: +49 40 76629 6359
E-Mail: academy@tutech.de

Dr. Margarete Remmert-Rieper